Home Sports NPFL: LMC, clubs agree six-team play-off

NPFL: LMC, clubs agree six-team play-off

File Photo

Ahead of the new 2018/ Nigeria Professional Football League season, NPFL, the League Management Company, , and the 24 club owners have agreed to undergo play-off at the end of the regular season.

The agreement was reached at an emergency meeting held to in the new league season on Friday in Abuja.

A statement released at the end of the meeting said three top team in each group of the league will proceed to the play-off.

The winner of the play-off will be declared winner of the league while second and third teams will represent Nigeria in the CAF clubs competitions.

Also the meeting identified officiating as one of the biggest challenges facing the league system and therefore resolved that any erring referee found wanting shall be withdrawn from the league for a minimum of 5years aside other disciplinary measures to be taken by the NFF referees committee.

Nigeria league will commence later today in an abridged format after much delay due to misunderstanding that erupted between the LMC and organiser of the second tier league NNL.

SEE ALSO:  Nick Jonas & Priyanka Chopra Step Out For First Event as a Married Couple!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here